Dog Tales

Madison at Maquoketa Caves State Park

What a busy weekend I had with my family, supervising yard work and then another day trip this time to Maquoketa Caves State Park!

First, I supervised my mom removing all the flowers from the front yard.   I made sure she pulled all the flowers and even gave her some advice.

Madison supervising yard work
Madison supervising yard work
Madison giving advice on pulling flowers
Madison giving advice on pulling flowers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mom gave me a bath after I spent the afternoon tromping through the flower bed.  She said my coat was full of dirt and I smelled bad.  Doesn’t she know I just smelled like a dog, that is what I am.  At least she didn’t use that thing that blows hot air on me like the last time she gave me a bath.

Madison still wet from her bath
Madison still wet from her bath

Sunday was a long day in the car, but it was fun at Maquoketa Caves State Park.  We went into a big cave and had to go down a long wooden staircase to get there. It was really dark and wet down there and dad said I was a mess.  Mom wrote her own story about the day on her blog, Different Isn’t Wrong, It’s Just Different.  She wouldn’t let me post any of those pictures in my story, can you believe it!

Madison and dad just about to go into the cave at Maquoketa Caves State Park
Madison and dad just about to go into the cave.
bob-madison-maquoketa-caves-autumn-7575
Madison and dad going up the stairs after being in the cave at Maquoketa Caves State Park

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After going through the big cave we hiked through the woods down a few trails and even crossed a creek a couple of times.  Dad said it was good that the mud got washed off, but Mom wasn’t happy that I was so wet as she just gave me a bath the day before.  For a while it was just mom and I and she just kept wanting to take pictures of me.  A lot of pictures!  More than what I am posting.

Madison trying to catch up with dad walking through the woods at Maquoketa Caves State Park
Madison trying to catch up with dad
Madison taking a break on the wood staircase at Maquoketa Caves State Park
Madison taking a break on the wood staircase at Maquoketa Caves State Park

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Something below caught Madison's attention at Maquoketa Caves State Park
Something below caught Madison’s attention at Maquoketa Caves State Park
Madison walking along the wooden path at Maquoketa Caves State Park
Madison walking along the wooden path at Maquoketa Caves State Park

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was a cloudy day but at one point my mom said the light was really pretty and wanted to get a picture of me. She’s always talking about the light being pretty, whatever that means.

Madison in the beautiful autumn sunshine on the wooden staircase at Maquoketa Caves State Park
Madison, The Dainty Dachshund, in the beautiful autumn sunshine on the wooden staircase at Maquoketa Caves State Park

 

After all that hiking through the woods and going through the caves, it was a long drive home.  At least I was able to sleep in the back seat!  Once we got home mom gave me another bath.  Two baths in two days!  After my bath she gave me a full body massage as she thought it had been a tough day for me hiking and all the stairs.  It felt really good to have more than belly rubs, she even massaged each of my paws!  I was tuckered out and all relaxed so it was time for a nap before we finally went to bed.  Can you believe she took a picture of me sleeping with my tongue sticking out?  It was a fun day spent with the family at Maquoketa Caves State Park.  I wonder what we’ll do this weekend?

madison-dainty-dachshund-sleeping-212-2
Madison, The Dainty Dachshund, after a bath and massage taking a nap
Leave a Reply

