Dog Tales

My First Day Trip

Trying on a new shirt to help keep me warm
Trying on a new shirt to help keep Madison warm

Saturday I went with my family to the Villages of Van Buren County Scenic Drive Fall Festival in southern Iowa for my first day trip.  What a day!  We went from one small town to another.  Lots of walking and both mom and dad carried me for a while.  The morning was chilly and mom had bought me a new little shirt, but it soon got wet from the dew covered grass and I was cold.  So she took it off and carried me for a while to get warm.

 

 

 

madison-dainty-dachshund-blog-0025
Madison and dad walking across a small bridge

 

Mom and dad also took turns walking with me.  Here I am with dad walking across this little bridge.  See how dainty I am?

 

 

 

 

 

Madison just wanting to be held
Madison just wanting to be held

 

Mom wanted to get a cute picture of me with all the mums, but I was tired and just wanted to climb up and have her hold me.  So many people wanted to meet me and give me pets.  They all thought I was so cute and adorable!

 

 

 

 

 

 

madison-dainty-dachshund-blog-0044
Madison in front of the American Gothic House

After our last stop among the villages, we were off to sight see.  Some place called the American Gothic House.    I didn’t want to sit still for a photo session, so mom had to make this image from a distance.  Usually, I just want to climb up in her lap when she is trying to make a portrait image of me.

Madison and family
Madison and family

Dad let me post his photo of the whole family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mom was excited to see monarch butterflies on some of the remaining flowers.  And of course she had to make a photo with her iPhone and even let me post it here.

Monarch butterfly on some purple wildflowers
Monarch butterfly on some purple wildflowers

 

madison-dainty-dachshund-blog-0031
Madison napping in the car

It was a long day for my first day trip and at one point mom made this quick image of me taking a nap in the car.

 

Leave a Reply

